What Is Wicca All About? Part II

In Part I, I talk about the basics of the deities and ethics in Wicca. Rituals and mythology play a key role in the Wiccan faith and I will discuss them here. The practice of magick is a defining feature of Wicca, as is the complex and interesting theology of the God and Goddess.

Wiccans, along with other neo-pagans and occultists, often use the spelling “magick” or “magik” to refer to the mystical practices in their faiths and traditions. They do this to make it clear they are referring to the special body of practices in Western esoteric traditions. “Magick” is contrasted with “magic”, which is the illusionist trickery used by street magic performers and stage magicians. Magick is regard as a real phenomena that appeals to deities for intervention or utilizes the natural, mystical laws of the universe.

Rituals follow a similar general pattern from Wiccan group to Wiccan group. A spiritual circle is drawn to create a magickal workspace and safety zone. Participants are encouraged to enter the circle and participate in the ritual “with perfect love and perfect trust”. Love of, and trust in, oneself and those engaging in magick with you are considered essential elements. Self-defeatism, dislike, mistrust, and other negative emotions will hinder and even sometimes sabotage magickal workings.

The God is usually revered as the Conquering Sun, Father Sky, and The Horned God. He represents vigor, order, and power. He is often broken down into a dualist pair to represent the seasons: Oak God and Holly God. The Oak God is the embodied aspects of Summer and warmth, while the Holly God is the embodiment of Winter and cold. The Oak God is often seen as an authority figure, a lawgiver and provider. In contrast, the Holly God is commonly presented as a god of death and trickster.

The Goddess commonly spoken of as the Triple Goddess. The Triple Goddess represents the stages of life in three faces: Maiden, Mother, and Matron. The Maiden is also called the Virgin, the Eternal Girl, and the Young Goddess. The Matron is also called the Crone, the Hag, and the Elder Goddess. The Maiden represents youthful growth and energy. The Mother represents the creative force and nurturing power. The Matron embodies wisdom and insight.

In my next post in this series, I will delve into some of the different traditions and divisions within Wicca.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Other posts that may interest you

  • What Is Wicca All About? Part I The average person has only heard about Wicca in passing. Perhaps a cousin is a Wiccan or they heard about some controversy about Wicca in the news. Many are left with the impression they are some sort of "Satanic witches" or a […]
  • Magick Rituals And How They Work Magick rituals are used by Wiccans, ceremonial mages, neo-pagans, and other practitioners in the Western Tradition of mysticism. The word "magick", as opposed to "magic", was first coined by Aleister Crowley in the early 20th […]
  • The Wiccan Rede (Full Version) Bide within the Law you must, in perfect Love and perfect Trust. Live you must and let to live, fairly take and fairly give. For tread the Circle thrice about to keep unwelcome spirits out. To bind the spell well every […]
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge

Find Love, Stars and Spells is Stephen Fry proof thanks to caching by WP Super Cache